Pump Up | APP REVIEW

I’ve heard a lot of buzz about Pump Up and seeing as I’m anti-gym, anti-fitness class and anti-workout DVD… I figured an app that creates workouts based on your goals, and the amount of time you have to commit, sounded pretty good. A simple, free tool for on the go that fits my schedule and helps me tone up. 

First of all, if you feel the need to compare yourself to others or if you get depressed scrolling through Instagram or Facebook (oh, that person lost 50 lbs? oh, I wish I could do my makeup like that… oh, why can’t I have cute workout clothes too? booo….), don’t get this app. It is like a fitness Instagram. You have an account on which, in addition to logging workouts, you can post pictures as well as keep track of weight and other goals.

It can be motivating for some to have a community of people all working towards health to be motivated and inspired by. But for others, this is not a good environment and will do more damage than good. Some people get discouraged by “after” pictures because they feel they could never achieve it, or it drives them to unhealthy lengths to achieve it. For others, it is motivating to see people who have worked hard to get a rockin’ bod. All I’m saying: KNOW THYSELF. 

* * * 

While things are loading on the app, there are little tips that are provided. This was one I thought had a very positive message that I approve and agree with. It’s more important to focus on health than on weight. 

IMG_0149

This next one however, I just cannot condone. Yes, your body runs on glucose – sugar- but DO NOT have pop after you work out! Sure you will replenish some calories that you lost, but this is just an awful tip. Have a banana, an apple, a berry smoothie! I personally advocate for a high carb, low fat diet, so the whole only have a bit of sugar in a day doesn’t work for me either. I have a lot of sugar in the form of fruits. That is what fuels me and keeps my mood and energy high. 

 

IMG_9952

This was another good one. It is true, you need to work opposite muscle groups to prevent injury. 

IMG_9987

During your workout, you’re never lost. It tells you exactly what to do, with clarifying instructions if need be as well as pictures demonstrating the exercises. You know when to take a break, how much weight, how many reps, etc. You can easily see at the bottom of the screen how many calories you’ve burned (approx. based on your weight and height you entered), how far through the workout you are, and your elapsed time.

I like the set up. You can have your own music playing while the app is open, and everything is just very easy to follow. It even tells you half-way through a stretch to switch sides if you need to. Your phone will vibrate at each transition, so even if you are not looking at it, it’s easy to know that a timer has elapsed or it’s time to go to the next thing. 

 

IMG_9988

 

Overall, this is a great app, and especially nice when I don’t know what to do or I’m stuck inside for the day. Workouts range from 10 minutes to an hour and so there’s no excuse to put off getting started today. I would recommend this app to anyone looking for workouts targeting specific muscle groups and working towards specific goals. 

I’ve used it about 5 times now, and I’m sure it will be a life saver in the winter when I’m indoors mostly. 

In case you were wondering, I still use the Nike+ running app, but this is what I use for strength training now. 

Do you use a fitness app? What do you think of Pump Up? Likes and dislikes about the set up or community? 
Comment below to let me know! 

Like this post? Check out another app review here.

Leave a comment